More than two dozen area municipalities are getting a one-time cash injection from the provincial government.

Parry Sound-Muskoka MPP Norm Miller says the more than $12 million is to help “improve service delivery and efficiency.”

The money could be spent on things like service delivery reviews, development of shared services agreements, IT solutions, capital investments or other projects. Municipalities will decide how to best target funding to benefit their local communities.

“Taxpayers need their local government to deliver modern, efficient services that show respect for their hard-earned dollars. This funding will help small and rural municipalities improve how they deliver services and reduce the ongoing costs of providing those services,” said Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing. “I look forward to continuing to work together with our municipal partners to help people and businesses in communities across our province thrive.” 

Of the 405 places across Ontario to this money, 26 of them are in the Parry Sound-Muskoka riding.

“We are very pleased to receive this funding from the Provincial Government,” said Parry Sound Mayor and President of the Association of Municipalities of Ontario Jamie McGarvey. “This funding will support our municipality’s endeavours to modernize our systems and services that will help to better serve our residents.”

“This funding will help all the communities in Parry Sound-Muskoka ensure they are providing their residents with the best value for their property tax dollars,” said Parry Sound-Muskoka MPP Norm Miller. “I look forward to seeing what innovative ways our municipal partners find to deliver services in the most efficient way possible.”


Here is a complete list of all the funding:

Armour Township407,000
Town of Bracebridge604,110
Village of Burk’s Falls254,800
Carling Township508,800
Georgian Bay Township604,110
Town of Gravenhurst604,110
Town of Huntsville604,110
Township of Joly207,000
Town of Kearney410,600
Township of Lake of Bays602,410
Machar Township331,200
Municipality of Magnetawan560,800
Municipality of McDougall534,200
Township of McKellar474,600
Township of McMurrich-Monteith321,000
District of Muskoka725,000
Township of Muskoka Lakes604,110
Town Parry Sound668,150
Township of Perry491,800
Ryerson Township275,400
Seguin Township725,000
Village of South River256,000
Township of Strong346,200
Village of Sundridge252,800
Township of the Archipelago675,170
Municipality of Whitestone531,000