Listen Live
Listen Live
HomeNewsThe South Muskoka Bears Major Midget Hockey team wins 'Team of the...

The South Muskoka Bears Major Midget Hockey team wins 'Team of the Year'

- Advertisement -


Bracebridge’s Team of the Year is the South Muskoka Bears Major Midget Hockey team. That’s according to the 2014 Community Volunteer and Sport Awards that was held at the Rene Caisse Theatre in Bracebridge last night. Henry Blanchard took home Coach of the Year and Walker Davison received Athlete of the Year. A number of local residents were recognized for their outstanding achievement in volunteerism and sport. A big congratulations to all candidates who were honoured with awards! The full list of winners is listed below…


  • Rosamond Abbott, Ontario Volunteer Service Award
  • Ginny Kernohan, Ontario Volunteer Service Award
  • Gail Oakley, Ontario Senior Achievement Award
  • Murray Jibb, Ontario Medal for Good Citizenship
  • Gord Dawes, June Callwood Outstanding Achievement
  • Logan Pepper, Ontario Medal for Young Volunteers


  • David Morrison, Christopher Todd Lang Memorial Accessibility Award


  • Walker Davison, Athlete of the Year
  • Henry Blanchard, Coach of the Year
  • South Muskoka Bears Major Midget Hockey Team, Team of the Year


  • Allan Tolton, Player
  • Lyle Cathcart, Builder/Sponsor

(Allan Tolton, third from left in picture, celebrates with his family at last night’s awards gala after being named to the Baseball Wall of Fame.)

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -

Continue Reading