Listen Live
Listen Live
HomeNews2014 Muskoka Novel Marathon has their winners

2014 Muskoka Novel Marathon has their winners

More donations have been counted from this year’s Muskoka Novel Marathon and the winners have been announced. Media Coordinator Karen Wehrstein says they broke their $20,000 record from last year.

[sc_embed_player fileurl=”″]

The Muskoka Novel Marathon is unique. Wehrstein says writing for 72 hours straight with a group of people from all over the world is a bit of a surreal experience.

[sc_embed_player fileurl=”″]

There were 40 participants this year. Tena Laing, from Toronto, won for best adult novel and Ruth Walker, from Whitby, won for Best Juvenile Novel. Wehrstein says these winners will get really great prizes.

[sc_embed_player fileurl=”″]

The MNM 2014 organizing committee extends its congratulations to all the winners. All the money raised is going to Huntsville’s Literacy Services.


  • Best Adult Novel: Tena Laing – We to Me 
  • Best YA/JuvenileNovel: Ruth Walker – The Last Battlewipe

Winners of the peer-voted awards:

  • Spirit Award (writer who most exemplifies the spirit of the Muskoka Novel Marathon): Lori Twining
  • Bum-in-Chair Award (writer showing most dedication to writing): Michael Codato
  • Techie Award (writer who is most helpful to other writers having problems with technology): Tobin Elliott
  • Rookie of the Year Award: Dale Long

Winners of the quantitative awards:

  • Most Prolific: Pat Flewwelling (67,000 words)
  • Rockstar (second most prolific): Lenore Butcher (58,000 words)
  • Remington Award (top fundraiser): Cheryl Cooper ($3,300)
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading