MUSKOKA, ON- Eight Muskoka women were celebrated this past Friday.

Friends, family, community members and supporters of YWCA Muskoka were present at the celebration at Mark O’Meara on Friday night.

The celebration is the organizations largest fundraiser for local programs, and a signature event held by YWCA’s across Canada. The winners were chosen from fourteen nominees.

2019 YWCA Muskoka Women of Distinction Award Recipients:

J’aime Payne – Arts, Culture and Creativity

Kalleen Turchet – Young Woman of Distinction

Kim Aitken – Business Innovation and Entrepreneurship

Darlene Poirier – Community Development and Social Activism

Marie Lloyd – Health, Sports and Wellness

Diane Litchfield – Transformational Award

Patti Hanrath– Mentorship

Sandra Winspear – Lifetime Achievement

The keynote address was delivered by Peaches, played by Robin Clipsham.  In addition, the evening was emceed with enthusiasm by entrepreneur and past Woman of Distinction, Fyonna Vanderwerf.

The executive director of YWCA Muskoka, Hannah Lin thanked the event sponsors, who were as follows:

TD Bank Group; My Muskoka Remax; RBC; Parry Sound-Muskoka Community Network; Hutcheson Reynolds & Caswell Insurance; Muskoka Chrysler; YourTV Cogeco; TELUS, Moose FM; Cedar Laine Restoration; Patricia Wilkinson Sense & Serenity and all the local businesses and individuals who donated to the silent auction.

Proceeds from the Women of Distinction Gala in Muskoka fund programs for women and youth in Muskoka throughout the year.