With the nomination period now closed for the upcoming Bracebridge Municipal election, it is a dash to the October 22nd vote day.

It is a two-candidate race for the top spot of Mayor, with incumbent Graydon Smith looking for his third straight term. Councillor Lori-Lynn Giaschi-Pacini is taking him on head-to-head, bringing 12 years of council experience, winning her first elected seat in 2006.

There are three spots open for District Councillor, with Don Smith, Steven Clement, Rick Maloney and Rick Hallam set to answer who the odd man out will be.

The biggest race appears to be in the Macaulay Ward with four candidates looking for one position. Andrew Struthers, Tom Young, Paul Everitt and Ruthann Cook will no doubt be conducting some heavy campaigning over the next three months to convince voters who to choose.

Archie Buie and Barb McMurray do not have to worry about campaigning as they were acclaimed in the Draper and Oakley Wards respectively.


Bracebridge Registered Candidates


Mayor (1 position)

Graydon Smith *

Lori-Lynn Giaschi-Pacini

District Councillor (3 positions)

Don Smith*

Steven Clement*

Rick Maloney*

Rick Hallam

Councillor – Bracebridge Ward (1 position)

Chris Wilson*

Kimberly Hayes-Rogers

Councillor – Monck/Muskoka Ward (1 position)

Mark Quemby*

Michael Gooch

Councillor – Macaulay Ward (1 position)

Andrew Struthers

Tom Young

Paul Everitt

Ruthann Cook


Councillor – Draper Ward (1 position) – Acclaimed

Archie Buie*


Councillor – Oakley Ward (1 position) – Acclaimed

Barb McMurray *


District Chair – District Municipality of Muskoka (1 position)

Gord Adams

John Klinck

Hugh Mackenzie


Trustee – Trillium Lakelands District School Board (1 position)

Steve Binstock


Trustee – Simcoe Muskoka Catholic District School Board – Ward 4 (1 position)

Carol Corriveau-Truchon


Trustee – Conseil Scolaire Public du Nord-Est de l’Ontario – Zone A (1 position)

Denis Boyer


Trustee – Conseil Scolaire Catholique MonAvenir – #64 (1 position)

Ryan Malenfant