Five student athletes from BMLSS are being recognized on a provincial level.
After winning gold during the Special Olympics Provincial Basketball Tournament, these five boys are now being receiving the award for Team of the Year.
This is a brand new award created by the Ontario sports organization.
Colton Kacsmar, Cobey Jutras, Logan Finch, Michael Towns and Alex Aldridge will travel to Toronto next Wednesday to receive the award during the Special Olympics Ontario Annual General Meeting.
Teacher Julia McCreadie says these boys came together in grade nine not knowing each other and now they have forged a very special friendship.