Listen Live
Listen Live
HomeNewsBracebridge officials to recognize special community and sports members

Bracebridge officials to recognize special community and sports members

Bracebridge officials have selected the recipients for the 2016 Community Recognition and Sports Awards.

On June 7th, council will hold a special event at the Rene Caisse Theatre to recognize these award winners.

For Community Recognition the town searches for residents who are making an impact either through volunteer work or running events in the community.

Bracebridge officials will also forward recipient names to be considered for the Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration’s Honours and Awards Program and the Ontario Heritage Trust.

- Advertisement -

The Sports Awards recognize young athletes, coaches and anyone who has made a positive impression on the sports community.

The ceremony kicks off at 7:00pm at the theatre and there will be an opportunity for photos with refreshments after the ceremony is over.

The recipients for both areas this year are listed below:

Community Recognition Awards

Bracebridge Good Citizenship Award – Janice Barnes

Bracebridge Senior Achievement Award – John Hartill

Bracebridge Young Volunteer Award – Kara Groenevelt

Bracebridge Volunteer Service Award – Ann Hough and Amy Trinka

Bracebridge Senior of the Year – Bonnie Blain

Christopher Todd Lang Accessibility Award – Bob Jones

Mayor’s Award of Excellence – Mike Jefford

Community Sport Awards

Bracebridge Athlete of the Year – Kennedy White

Bracebridge Team of the Year – Team Ron Perrier

Bracebridge Community Coach of the Year – Cindy Rusak

And on the Bracebridge Baseball Wall of Fame:

  • Tedd Conway
  • Bill Earley
  • Brian Veitch
  • Danny Poland
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading